After the season ends, member schools of the Eastern Kentucky Conference come together for an annual banquet to recognize each team’s efforts throughout the season.

On Monday at the Lewis Caveland Lodge, each of the seven schools were honored including Rowan County.

Seniors Matt Brown and Jalen Stone as well as junior Tyler Thacker earned All-EKC honors.

As a senior, Stone tied Thacker for the team lead in points per game at 14. Stone scored the most points of anyone on the team (502) and led the Vikings in most 3-point field goals made (75).

Thacker, a junior, handed out almost five assists per game and 3.9 rebounds a contest. In his final campaign in a Viking’s uniform, Brown chipped in with 8.7 points and 7.3 rebounds. Rowan County finished the season at 21-14.

For the Lady Vikings, senior Taylor Conn and juniors Faith Conn and Candace Justice earn All-EKC honors.

Boys All-EKC Team:

West Carter: Kyle Brown, Dustin Black

East Carter: Quinn Huddle, Kyle Steward

Fleming County: Darion Burns, Troy Steward, Austin Crisp

Lewis County: Brett Ruckel

Russell: Kyle Skaggs – Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year, Jacob Porter – Defensive Player of the Year, Lance Evans – Terrence Smith Courage Award, Googie Hayes

Rowan County: Tyler Thacker, Matt Brown, Jalen Stone

Morgan County: Jordan Perry, Jordan Whitt

Merle Kidwell – Coach of the Year

Girls All-EKC Team:

East Carter: Bryana Greenhill – Defensive Player of the Year, Kristen Mayo – Player of the Year, Kerie Steele, Kelsey Stumbo, Megan Stickler

West Carter: Brooke Callihan, Lexie Berry

Fleming County: Tierra Taylor, Martina Lytle, Rachel Boyd

Rowan County: Candace Justice, Taylor Conn, Faith Conn

Russell: Hope Parsley, Arden Gross

Lewis County: Savannah Anderson – Hop Brown Courage Award and Player of the Year, Taylor Frye, Emily Frye

Morgan County: Cheyenna Furgeson

Hager Easterling – Coach of the Year

Recommended for you