Surgery team physicians honored

From left, Dr. Anthony Weaver, Dr. Chris Weigel, and Dr. James Lynch (accepting the award on behalf of the surgery team).

The Northeast Kentucky Area Health Education Center (NE KY AHEC) hosted its 2019 Preceptor Recognition Celebration Nov. 8.

At the event, the St. Claire HealthCare Surgery Team was presented with the Outstanding Teaching Group Award.

This accolade recognizes a group of community health professionals who precepted students as a whole and who are dedicated to giving back to students and showing them how a group works together as a whole. The provide guidance for student’s career goals, planning and growth; and have been in practice and precepted students for over three years.

Dr. Anthony Weaver of St. Claire HealthCare was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

This award recognizes a community health professional that has practiced for 10 or more years, and has demonstrated leadership and service achievement which has resulted in significant contribution to further the mission and vision of the NE KY AHEC. They have significant community service and civic activities and serve as a role model for other health professional students. They demonstrate repeated outstanding achievements, as well as recognition beyond profession. Their contributions are those of lasting impact and outstanding creativity.

Dr. Chris Weigel of Morehead Primary Care was presented with the Preceptor of the Year Award.

This accolade recognizes a community health professional that sets an outstanding professional example, has precepted at least five students within the fiscal year, and is dedicated to giving back to students.


The NE KY AHEC is one of eight regional centers in Kentucky that have a mission of enhancing access to quality health care services in rural and medically underserved areas. Through their pipeline initiatives, regional AHECs strive to improve the supply and distribution of health care professionals via community and academic partnerships. The NE KY AHEC, hosted by St. Claire HealthCare in Morehead, serves a 17-county region that includes Bath, Boyd, Carter, Clark, Elliott, Fleming, Greenup, Lawrence, Lewis, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Powell, Robertson, and Rowan. For information about the NE KY AHEC or any of its programs, visit

Recommended for you