8-21 morgan named to rural dev board.jpg

The Center for Rural Development’s board of directors introduced new members, Dr. Jay Morgan, left, and Robert “Mike” Duncan.

The Center for Rural Development recently announced changes to its board of directors with the addition of two new board members.

The board also honored Mike Calhoun for his dedicated service to The Center and the region as a member. Calhoun served on The Center’s board of directors for four years.

Current board member Dr. W. Bruce Ayers was re-elected Chair of The Center board of directors. Dr. Ayers served as President of Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College for almost 27 years. He worked at the college for more than 45 years until he retired in June 2013.

Other officers of the board are Vice-Chair Jerry Rickett, President & CEO of Kentucky Highlands Investment Corporation in London; Secretary Clay Parker Davis, retired President & CEO of Citizens National Bank in Somerset; and Treasurer Jean Dorton, retired educator from Paintsville, now living in Lexington.

The Center’s board of directors also introduced new members, Robert “Mike” Duncan and Dr. Jay Morgan.

“I am honored to be asked to serve on The Center’s board, and believe that The Center is highly engaged in the development of the region. I look forward to working with the board and for Morehead State University contributing to the success in the region,” said Dr. Morgan.

Duncan has served as the chairman on the Republican National Committee, the chairman of the board of directors of the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA), the founding chairman of American Crossroads, and in 2018 he became a member of the Board of Governors of the United States Postal Service.

Dr. Morgan is the current president of Morehead State University. He has also served as the state-wide chief academic officer and vice president for academic affairs and student success for the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education in Frankfort. Dr. Morgan has served as provost and vice president for academic affairs at Murray State University and currently serves as a board of trustees member of the Southern Association of College and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Recommended for you