MOREHEAD Few local candidates in the 2020 Primary Election this May will be challenged in their respective races.

Two Republicans will square off on May 19 in the race for state representative in the 99th District. They are Dennis Stafford and Richard White, both of Morehead. The district includes Elliott, Rowan and Lewis counties.

The only Democrat to file for the seat is Bill Redwine of Morehead.

White and Redwine will face off in a special election on Tuesday, Feb. 25, to fill the unexpired term of Rep. Rocky Adkins who resigned to become special advisor to Gov. Andy Beshear.

Candidates for the two-year term of Morehead City Council will not be on the ballot until November because there were only 11 to file – not enough for a runoff.

Competing for the six seats will be Alex Hill, James Gould, Beth Ousley, Mike Kash, Jan Bishop, Glen Teager, Jim Tom Trent, Tom Carew, David Perkins, Michelle Emrick and Melisa Patrick.

Rowan County Board of Education candidates have until June to file.

Other races and candidates include:

US Representative 5th District – Democrat Matthew Best of London; Republicans Hal Rogers of Somerset and Gerardo Serrano of Tyner.

State Senator 27th District – Republican Steve West of Paris; no Democrats filed for the seat.

Circuit Judge 21st District/Division 2

Nonpartisan – David Barber of Morehead, Elizabeth Davis of Mt. Sterling, Ashton McKenzie of Salt Lick, Stephen Neal of Mt. Sterling and N. Blaze Tomlin of Mt. Sterling.

Supreme Court of Appeals 7th District – Non partisan, Robert Conley of Ashland, Chris Harris of Forest Hills, Kentucky and Sam Wright of Mayking

US Senator – Democrats Jimmy Ausbrooks of Franklin, Charles Booker of Louisville, Mike Broihier of Stanford, Andrew Maynard of Georgetown, Amy McGrath of Lexington, Eric Rothmuller of Louisville, John Sharpensteen of Bonnieville, Bernie Smith of Louisville and Mary Ann Tobin of Guston;

Republicans Nicholas Alsager of Campbellsville, Wendell Crow of Cox Creek, Paul John Frangedakis of Lexington, Louis Grider of Elizabethtown, Naren James of Stanford, Kenneth Lowndes of Wilder, Mitch McConnell of Louisville and C. Wesley Morgan of Richmond.

Reach Stephanie at or by phone at (606) 784-4116.

Recommended for you