Ten student-athletes from the Morehead State football team have picked up 2012 postseason honors from College Sports Madness. The list includes four Eagles who have garnered All-Pioneer Football League First-Team selections.

Senior Donte Sawyer led MSU with a pair of first-team selections, including wide receiver and kick-return honors. The Acworth, Ga., native finished 2012 with 81 receptions for 1,024 yards and eight touchdowns. He also had 680 yards and two touchdowns on 26 kick

returns. He led the PFL in receptions per game (7.4) and all-purpose yards (7.4), was second in receiving yards per game (93.1) and kick return average (26.2) and sixth in points per contest (5.5). In four years, Sawyer set school standards for receptions (199), receiving yards (2,555) and receiving touchdowns (24).

Sophomore running back Rees Macshara and senior offensive lineman Joey Clegg picked up first-team offensive selections as well. Macshara, who became the first Eagle since 2000 to post 1,000 rushing yards in a season, finished with 1,013 yards on 173 carries and six touchdowns. He also collected 307 yards and one score on 39 receptions. He was second in the PFL in rushing yards per game (92.1) and third in all-purpose yards (120.0). Clegg, blocked for an offense that ranked first in the PFL in scoring offense with 58 touchdowns and 38.4 points per game. The Eagles were also first in total yards (471.5), first in pass offense (305.4) and third in rushing offense (166.2).

Sophomore linebackers Jordan Hendrix and Dillion Blackburn rounded out the first-team honors for the Eagles. Hendrix, who posted eight performances of double-figure tackles, led the PFL with a school-record 123 total tackles. Blackburn, who reached 10 plus tackles on six occasions, finished second on the team with 118 tackles.

Senior quarterback Zach Lewis was a second-team selection for his efforts in 2012. The Manchester, Ky., native ranked third in the PFL in passing yards per game (268.6), pass efficiency (143.0) and total offense (274.1). He ran the ball 33 times for 60 yards and completed 266-of-402 attempts for 2,955 yards. Lewis finished the season with 25 throwing touchdowns. He is also MSU’s all-time in completions (936), passing yards (10,251) and throwing touchdowns (72).

Senior offensive lineman Eric Matteson was also a second-team selection for the Eagles. Like fellow lineman Clegg, he helped MSU to league-leading stats in scoring, total yards and pass offense.

Senior defensive back Dexter Geohagan, also a second-team selection, was seventh in the PFL in passes defended, with 0.82 per contest. He registered 43 tackles and two interceptions.

Senior kicker Rainer Duzan and junior defensive lineman Aaron Meadows completed the Eagles’ selections with third-team accolades. Duzan was 54-of-57 on point-after-attempts and 6-of-8 on field-goal tries. He also registered 35 punts for 1,333 yards and closed out his career with school standards in points for a kicker (258), field goals (36) and extra points (150).

Meadows recorded 43 tackles in 2012, including 12 tackles for loss. He also added six sacks for 51 yards, two forced fumbles and five quarterback hurries.

The Eagles finished the season 4-7 overall and 3-5 in the PFL.

Recommended for you