For the third consecutive season, the Morehead State volleyball program has been awarded the Ohio Valley Conference Team Academic Award. The honor goes to the program with the greatest percentage of its student-athletes named to the OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll.

    MSU compiled an impressive 3.86 team GPA last year and had 11 players named on the Commissioner's Honor Roll. Four players earned the prestigious Medal of Honor for having the highest grade point averages among all OVC volleyball student-athletes.

    "This is truly an honor for our team to be recognized again as the OVC Team Academic Award winner," said coach Jaime Gordon. "We always have put a strong emphasis on academics because we feel our players can excel on the court and in the classroom. This reflects the hard work they put in all year and the hard work that Valerie Ousley and the academic center staff put in to ensure our players are fully prepared to do well in class."

    Holly Evans, Emma Keough, Lindsey Ruddell and Ellie Roberson all achieved perfect 4.0 GPAs last year and earned a Medal of Honor as well as a spot on the Commissioner's Honor Roll. Along with that quartet, Aryn Bohannon, Kirstie Brangers, Caitlyn Clark, Kaitlin Craven, Annie Gruenschlaeger, and Kristina Schoo were named on the Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Recommended for you