Morehead State University honored four individuals during the University’s Fall Convocation on Wednesday, Aug. 15.

The 2012 award recipients were: Dr. Lesia Lennex, professor of education, Distinguished Researcher; Barb Lewis, associate professor of veterinary technology, Certified Veterinary Technician and a charter Veterinary Technician Specialist, Distinguished Teacher; Dr. Brenda K. Wilburn, director of counseling and health services, Distinguished Staff Service; and Dr. Julia Hypes, associate professor of sport management, Distinguished Faculty Service.

Dr. Lennex joined the MSU faculty in 1996. She received her B.A., M.S. and Ed.D. degrees from the University of Tennessee.

She currently serves as the chair of Information Technology Education special interest group for the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education. She was a member of the President’s Leadership Academy during its 2009-10, and an Adron Doran Fellow in 2010-11. She is the incoming chair for the MSU University Tenure Committee, and serves on Faculty Senate.

Among her numerous memberships are National Science Teacher Association, Kentucky Science Teachers Association, Association for Educational Communication and Technology, International Society for Technology Education, Association for Advancement of Computing Education and Mid-South Research Association.

Dr. Lennex has co-edited two books, published numerous articles and chapters, and given presentations.

Lewis joined MSU as an instructor in 1981. She earned an A.A.S. degree in animal health technology from Colorado Mountain College, a B.A. degree in biology from SUNY College at Buffalo and an M.A. degree in adult and higher education from Morehead State.

She was included in the seventh edition of Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers and has been recognized three times by the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America for professional development for veterinary technology students as chapter advisor.

A member of more than 10 different professional organizations, Lewis serves on the executive board of the Kentucky Veterinary Medical Association. She was a charter member and is currently the first president of The Academy of Veterinary Clinical Pathology Technicians.

Lewis has had numerous journals published and has presented at local, regional and state veterinary conferences.

Dr. Wilburn received a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing from Bellarmine College, a Master of Science from Marshall University, her Doctor of Public Health from the University of Kentucky and a post master’s certificate for rural adult mental health nurse practitioner from Eastern Kentucky University.

In addition to her many degrees, she holds several certifications, including Certified Nurse Educator, Family Nurse Practitioner, Adult Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, a Correctional Health Professional certification, as well as her license as a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE).

Dr. Wilburn joined MSU in 1992 and has held a number of titles while rising to her current position.

She has vast experience in the medical field, having previously worked for such institutions as the Kentucky Department of Juvenile Justice, St. Claire Regional Medical Center, Pathways Inc., King’s Daughters Medical Center, and the Ashland Community and Technical College System.

Dr. Hypes earned her undergraduate degree in mass communications from Middle Tennessee State University. She received her master's in sport science degree, with an emphasis in sport management, from the U.S. Sports Academy. She completed her Ph.D. degree in curriculum, instruction, and media technology (with an emphasis in educational technology) at Indiana State University.

She joined the MSU faculty in 2002.

Dr. Hypes has many years of experience in athletic administration, facility management, and sports information, as well as numerous publications credits, including co-author of three textbooks. She has presented at numerous state, national, and international conferences, and has been involved with AAHPERD for more than 20 years.

She was named in 2010 as president of the American Association for Physical Activity and Recreation (AAPAR). Her other honors include 2012 professional service award and 2011 honor award from the Council on Facilities and Equipment.