Walter Blevins turned back five opponents Tuesday to capture the Democratic nomination for Rowan County judge-executive.

He will face Republican Richard White this November for the right to succeed Judge-Executive Jim Nickell who did not seek reelection.

White was unopposed in the primary.

Vote totals in the judge-executive’s race were

Blevins, 1,122; John “Skip” Holley, 964; Harry Clark, 740; Jerry Alderman, 651; Paul Caskey, 500; Elaine Bentley, 35.

Matt Sparks emerged victorious from a three-way race for the Democratic nomination for sheriff.

Vote totals were Sparks, 1,688; Larry Joe Stevens, 1,232; Kenny Skeans, 976.

Sparks will face Republican Donnie Hall who defeated Joe Cline on Tuesday by a vote of

757 to 735.

Sheriff Jack Carter did not run for a ninth term.

In the Democratic county attorney primary, incumbent Cecil R. Watkins defeated former county attorney Paul R. Stokes by a count of 2,054 to 1,858.

No Republican filed for that office so Watkins is assured of a four-year term.

The Democratic nomination for county clerk went to Kim Davis over two other candidates. Vote totals were Davis, 1,817; Elwood Caudill Jr., 1,794; Charlotte Combess, 322.

County Clerk Jean W. Bailey did not seek reelection.

Squaring off this fall in the race to succeed longtime County Jailer Donnie Hall Sr. will be Democrat David Flutz and Republican Wes Coldiron.

Hall did not run for a new term.

Other Rowan County vote totals included:

Republican: Magistrate District 2 – Jerry Flannery, 304; Larry Coldiron, 186.

District 3 – Dennis Perry, 203; Kristi Wilson, 138.

District 4 – Robert Keller, 179; Rick Williams, 109.

Democrat: District 2 – Darrell Glover, 903; Homer Skeans, 211.

District 3 – Charlie Winkleman, 365; Danny Mabry, 163; Ray Baldridge, 137; John Bowman, 112; Scotty Purnell, 97; Roy Slone, 86.

District 4 – Stanley Messer, 201; Dale Davis, 183; Rob Hamm, 169; Anthony White, 167; Keith Logan, 87; Mark Fraley, 66; Benny Joe Flynn, 38.


Recommended for you