The Morehead News

Local News

April 9, 2012

Chamber award nominations due April 23

April 9, 2012 —     Are you aware of individuals, businesses or organizations in the community who deserve public recognition for good works?

    If so, you should check out the annual awards of the Morehead-Rowan County Chamber of Commerce.

    In a broad-based recognition program that started in 1988, the Chamber now sponsors nine separate awards that are presented each spring to individuals, businesses and organizations for exemplary work on behalf of the community.

    This year’s presentations will take place on Thursday, May 24, at the Morehead Conference Center during the annual Chamber banquet.

    The deadline for nominations for the 2012 awards cycle is Monday, April 23.  Nominations may be mailed, faxed or e-mailed.

    The criteria for each award is listed on the Chamber’s website at

    For more information, call the Chamber office at 784-6221. The fax number is 784-1373. The e-mail address is

    To assist our readers in making nominations, here is the list of previous recipients:

    Ora L. Cline Award:  Jim Fluty, 1988;  SealMaster, 1989; Alex Conyers, 1990; Dr. C. Nelson Grote, 1991; Dr. Louise Caudill, 1992;  Larry Fannin, 1993; Sister Mary Jeanette Wess, 1994; Dr. Ron Eaglin, 1995; Waverly Jones, 1996;  Clyde Thomas and Bradley Collins, 1997; Robert Bishop, 1998, Alpha Hutchinson, 1999; Roger Russell, 2000; Shirley Hamilton, 2001; Terry Ensor, 2002;  Keith Kappes, 2003; Mark Neff, 2004; Bob Neff, 2005; Dr. Charles Derrickson, 2006; Dr. Jack Ellis, 2007; Dr.    Dudley Herron, 2008; John Robinson, 2009; Dr. Wayne Andrews, 2010; and Sarah Jane Howard, 2011.

    Educator of the Year: Sharon Wheeler, 1997; Virginia Landreth, 1998; Arvil Allen, 1999; Dr. L. K. Williams, 2000; Kay Freeland, 2001; Dr. Benjamin Malphrus, 2002; Jamie Brown, 2003; Dr. Ron Eaglin, 2004; Kelli Crump, 2005; Ronetta Brown, 2006; Sharon Walters, 2007; Marvin Moore, 2008; Debbie Howes, 2009;     Mark and Virginia Etherton, 2010; and Greg Wing, 2011.

    Service Above Self Award: Don Mantooth and Bill Shely, 1997; Tom Carew; 1998, Clayton Perkins, 1998; Terry Ensor, 1999; Bonnie Eaglin, 2000; Tod Barhorst, 2001; Dr. Dudley Herron, 2002; John Robinson, 2003; Kay Stiner, 2004;  Rodney Hitch, 2005; Paul Hitchcock, 2006;

Dr. Wayne Andrews, 2007; Mary Jerde, 2008; Ray White, 2009; Glen Teager, 2010; and Helen Northcutt, 2011.

    New Business of the Year: Major Brands, 1996; Coast to Coast Hardware, 1997; Hickory Pointe Golf Course, 1998; The Mustard Seed, 1999; Lewis Place, 2000; The Patrick Center, 2001; Duckster’s Car Wash, 2002; Old Schoolhouse Antiques, 2003; Curves, 2004; Lowe’s, 2005; Buffalo Wild Wings, 2006; Eagle Travel Plaza, 2007; Tin Woof Inn, 2008; Morehead Cinemas, 2009;Hampton Inn, 2010; and The Bakery on Main, 2011.

    Manufacturer/Industry of the Year: Austin Apparel, 1996; Premier Bandag, 1997; Guardian Automotive, 1998; Harold White Millworks, 1999; St. Claire Regional Medical Center, 2000; Family Dollar Distribution, 2001; Morehead Machining, 2002; SealMaster, 2003; Carhartt, 2004; Morehead State University, 2005; Rowan Restaurants, 2006; Packs, Inc., 2007; The Wells Group, 2008; Walmart, 2009; CMC Golf, 2010; and Hamilton, Inc., 2011.

    Community Organization of the Year: Morehead Woman’s Club, 1996; Morehead Kiwanis Club, 1997; Rowan County Extension Homemakers, 1998; Habitat for Humanity, 1999; Morehead Lions Club, 2000; Rowan County Christmas, 2001; Daniel Boone Firefighters, 2002; Morehead Theatre Guild, 2003; Morehead Woman’s Club, 2004; Frontier Housing, 2005; The People’s Clinic, 2006; Kentucky Army National Guard, 2007; Rowan County Veterans Foundation, 2008; Foothills Quilt Trail and Cave Run Storytelling Festival, 2009; Christian Social Services, 2010; and Morehead Optimist Club, 2011.

    Business Beautification Award: C. Roger Lewis Agency, 1997; Holiday Inn, 1998; Occasions, 1999; Blair Building, 2000; Kroger Company, 2001; First Federal Savings and Loan Association, 2002; H & R Block, 2003; A. Baldwin & Associates, 2004; Arby’s, 2005; MSU-ADUC Student Center, 2006; Rowan County Arts Center, 2007; Morehead Community Federal Credit Union, 2008; Morehead Conference Center, 2009;

American Business Systems, 2010; and Eagle Dairy Queen, 2011.

    Community Partners Award: Morehead-Rowan County-MSU Recycling Center, 2001; Morehead-Rowan County Economic Development Council, 2002; Rowan County Veterans Foundation, 2003; Habitat for Humanity, 2005; Frontier Housing and Kentucky Bank, 2008; Menifee, Morgan and Rowan County Regional Business Park, 2009; MSU, St. Claire and UK, 2010; and MSU/Rowan County Fiscal Court, 2011.

    Horizon Award:  Tony & Chuck Netherly, 2011.


Text Only
Local News
The Morehead News on Facebook

The Kentucky Department of Corrections is allowing Rowan County to plan for a 300-bed jail. Do you support building a jail that is nearly four times larger than the current facility?

     View Results