The Morehead News

Local News

February 7, 2012

Eight candidates set to run for City Council

Feb. 7, 2012 — Eight candidates have filed to run for six seats on the Morehead City Council in the November general election.

Meeting last Tuesday’s filing deadline were Bruce Adkins, Jan Bishop, Tom Carew, Carolyn Franzini, Beth Ousley, Bill Patrick, Glen Teager and Regina Thompson.

All but Franzini and Thompson are current Council members. Ousley was appointed recently to fill the unexpired term of Al Baldwin.

    County Clerk Jean Bailey said names of the Council candidates won’t appear on the May primary ballot because fewer than 13 candidates filed.

    Instead, all candidates will vie for the six seats in the Nov. 6 election.

    Other local races will include Lakeview Heights City Commission, commonwealth’s attorney, school board, the General Assembly, Congress and the Kentucky Supreme Court.

    Rowan Circuit Court Clerk Jim Barker is unopposed for a fourth term.

The seat held by U.S. Rep. Hal Rogers of the 5th District is up this year, as are seats held by State Rep. John Will Stacy and Sen. Walter Blevins.

Also expiring is the eight-year term of Kentucky Supreme Court Justice Will T. Scott of Pikeville, whose 7th District covers the state’s 22 easternmost counties, including Rowan.

        School board members with expiring, four-year terms in 2012 are Larry Coldiron, Brian Riddle and Brian Wallace. The filing deadline for these seats is Aug. 14.

    All four Lakeview city commission seats will be up in 2012. They currently are held by Sam Mason, Bob Camuel, Mary Magrane and Tim Miller.


Text Only
Local News
The Morehead News on Facebook

The Kentucky Department of Corrections is allowing Rowan County to plan for a 300-bed jail. Do you support building a jail that is nearly four times larger than the current facility?

     View Results